OPI Guy Meets Gal-veston (Texas Collection)

I ruined my manicure at work two days ago because a retarded customer broke a bottle of nail polish and I had to clean up the mess using wet wipes which stained almost all the fingers on my right hand ): So, since I just received Guy Meets Gal-veston from Genevieve last week, I decided to give it a try!

Guy Meets Gal-veston is a coral red jelly. OPI calls it ‘sorbet’, I really have no idea why cos it’s just a normal sheer jelly! Trying to act cute by giving it a ‘different’ name, is it? Hahaha. Anyway, it is much cooler-toned than in my pictures. I’m super loving the squishy look that the jelly gives cos it is translucent. This was four coats because I hate seeing my visible nail line. The formula was smooth and easy to apply, but somehow I feel that OPI polishes do not dry as fast as all my other polishes and it chipped slightly within a few hours ):

Oh and did I mention how much I dislike the OPI brush? They use the Pro-Wide brush which is almost twice the width of the usual polish brushes and it is flat, unlike usual polish brushes which are round. I don’t like it because it is too wide to be used on my tiny nails, especially my little finger as the brush was of the same width as my nail! The flat and wide brush also means that it is hard to make the bristles fan out nicely to paint a nice curve at the cuticles. I am super anal about this because I hate messing up at my cuticles (which I rarely do anymore).

The reason why I call Guy Meets Gal-veston a jelly instead of a creme is because they have very obvious differences. Cremes are usually two-coaters but jellies usually need at least three coats. As you can see from the picture above, the metal mixing balls can be seen meaning that it’s very sheer. This usually doesn’t happen to cremes. So why do I choose to use a jelly instead of a creme? To me, a jelly looks more yummy and squishy than a creme, which looks more flat and lifeless hahaha. I think this is my next favourite red after China Glaze Ruby Pumps! 😀

If you’re my close friend, you’d know that I really dislike OPI on the whole because of how overhyped it is. Their recent collections are nothing but boring. People might think otherwise cos of the Shatters but I really am not a big fan of the crackle look. Besides, crackle has been around for the longest time, just that it wasn’t widely marketed hence the lack of knowledge of it, making people think that it’s some sort of new effect. That is why I only own the OPI Silver Shatter and China Glaze Crackle Glaze Lightning Bolt, a white crackle polish.

On the whole, I still very much prefer my holos, glitter and flakies! I’ll be posting swatches of those in time to come, plus videos of how they look when moving under light. I’m gonna be doing nail art again for the weekend pretty soon! It’s gonna be a cool one I promise so stay tuned! 😀

Leave a Reply

