China Glaze Calypso Blue (Bahama Blues Collection)

If you already read my previous post, this is one of the newest polish in my collection 😀 I don’t think I can ever get enough of blues (and greens and purples. actually just polish in general lol) and currently I have 24 bottles of blue polish :O

China Glaze Calypso Blue is a very dark navy blue creme. This was one of the first few collections that China Glaze made that is Big 3 Free. You can read this post by Michelle from All Lacquered Up if you’re interested in the technicality of it. I mentioned that this was one of the first batches of Big 3 Free polishes because China Glaze couldn’t quite get the formula right then, hence this polish was watery, yet goopy and stringy when applied. It was unbelievably thick for a brand new polish so I had no choice but to thin it with my Seche Restore thinner.

After thinning, it became so smooth to apply! 😀 If I painted one coat very carefully I could get away with it, but I did two so that they will be more even. China Glaze has since reformulated their polish and most of the newer ones are a breeze to apply (:

This shade of dark navy blue is slightly darker in real life. It kinda looks like NARS Midnight Express after the application. It is also much darker as compared to OPI Dating A Royal. It still manages to be unique because although it is very dark, it doesn’t look black unlike how some dark polish shades appear to be. And this will be perfect as a stamping polish cos it’s so opaque!

Leave a Reply

